The Bible In Drag: “Self-Narratives” (John 5:5-6)

One person there had been sick for thirty-eight years. Jesus, who knew this person had been sick for a long time said, “Do you want to be healed?”

John 5:5-6

The Bible In Drag - Queering Scripture

Self Portrait – Vexed by Liz Canning

As the lame man lay beside the pool of healing – yet helpless to get into the pool – so am I caged by my own self-narrative. I cannot go anywhere my narrative does not allow. This is not necessarily a lament, after all, I have a life’s investment in my self-narrative. I want people to know it. I want to be known by it.

via The Bible In Drag – Queering ScriptureAugust 29, 2013

Leave a Reply

